Thermo Forward to a colleague »
Subscribe »
         
 

Free Webinar: XPS for
Energy & Environmental
Materials Characterization

An educational Webinar offered jointly
by Oak Ridge National Laboratory and
Thermo Fisher Scientific

Advances in instrumentation mean that materials scientists, nano-technologists and engineers working with materials for energy and environment related projects now have access to the unique capabilities of X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS). Chemical engineering of thin film and interfaces in these areas-of-interest often requires characterization on the nanometer scale. XPS is ideally suited for this task, enabling development of a wide range of devices related to renewable and alternative energy technologies.

XPS has a fast sample turnaround, facilitated by its standard-less quantification and the need for little or no sample preparation.  It is a technique that excels at providing full chemical characterization for a wide range of solid materials.  Typical XPS analyses include:

  • Elemental and chemical surface characterization of thin films and ultra thin films prevalent in design of fuels cells, environmental sensors and battery technology
  • Elemental/chemical information as a function of depth for solar cell and fuel cell devices
  • Imaging of interfaces in solar/fuel cell devices (effectiveness of diffusion barriers can be evaluated)
  • Chemical characterization of next generation polymer-based devices (conducting or non-conducting) for OLEDs, solar cells and polymer electronics

Register

 

Date and Times

August 13, 2009

9:00 AM (EDT)
1:00 PM (GMT)
2:00 PM (BST)


4:00 PM (EDT)
8:00 PM (GMT)
9:00 PM (BST)

Register

What time is the
Webinar for me?

Join us for the free Webinar for insight into the information provided by this useful technique, applications examples related to energy and environmental projects and an introduction to advanced XPS technology and software for producing world class data.

This Webinar is 30 minutes with an additional 15 minutes for questions & answers.

 
 

Thermo Fisher Scientific offers the widest range of XPS products with unique capabilities. 2008 Award winning, best in class data system offers full system control, data interpretation and analysis. Unique CyberReady capabilities allow for remote operation and collaboration.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory is a multiprogram science and technology laboratory managed for the U.S. Department of Energy by UT-Battelle, LLC. Scientists and engineers at ORNL conduct basic and applied research and development to create scientific knowledge and technological solutions that strengthen the nation's leadership in key areas of science; increase the availability of clean, abundant energy; restore and protect the environment; and contribute to national security.

     
 
Part of Thermo Fisher Scientific

©2009 Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. All rights reserved.

This is an advertising message from Thermo Fisher Scientific. Your privacy is important to us. Please review our online privacy policy.